Preface
I  Rob’s Daily Journal
Introduction
Rome
 Friday, March 26: SeaTac Airport
 Saturday, March 27: Seattle to Rome
 Monday, March 29: Ancient Rome
 Tuesday, March 30: Art in Rome
 Wednesday, March 31: St. Peter’s Basilica
 Thursday, April 1: Vatican Museum
Sorrento
 Friday, April 2: Rome to Sorrento
 Saturday, April 3: Pompeii
 Sunday, April 4: Palm Sunday, Amalfi Coast
 Monday, April 5: Napoli
 Tuesday, April 6: Sorrento
Tuscany
 Wednesday, April 7: Sorrento to Assisi
 Thursday, April 8: Assisi to Tuscany
 Friday, April 9: Certaldo, San Gimignano
 Saturday, April 10: Firenze I
 Sunday, April 11: Easter
 Monday, April 12: Pisa, Lucca
 Tuesday, April 13: Siena
 Wednesday, April 14: Volterra
 Thursday, April 15: Firenze II
 Friday, April 16: Leonardo Museum
Venice
 Saturday, April 17: Certaldo to Venice
 Sunday, April 18: Venice I
 Monday, April 19: Venice II
Northern Italy
 Tuesday, April 20: Venezia to Bellagio, Padova
 Wednesday, April 21: Bellagio to CinqueTerre
 Thursday, April 22: CinqueTerre Town Walk
Provence
 Friday, April 23: Breakfast in Italy, Lunch in Monaco, Dinner in France
 Saturday, April 24: A Gite in Provence
 Sunday, April 25: Vaison-la-Romaine
 Monday, April 26: Orange and Pont du Gard
 Tuesday, April 27: Market Day, Mount Ventoux, Cotes du Rhone
 Wednesday, April 28: A Day Off
 Thursday, April 29: Rain!
 Friday, April 30: Avignon
Cathar Country
 Saturday, May 1: Carcasonne
 Sunday, May 2: L’Isle-en-Dodon, Toulouse
 Monday, May 3: Lastours, Minerve
Chateau Figeac
 Tuesday, May 4: Caunes-Minervois to St. Emilion
 Wednesday, May 5: Chateau Figeac
Dordogne River Valley
 Thursday, May 6: St. Emilion to Sarlat-en-Canada
 Friday, May 7: Prehistoric Perigord
 Saturday, May 8: Birth Day, V-E Day
 Sunday, May 9: Rocamador
 Monday, May 10: Possessions are a nuisance
Loire River Valley
 Tuesday, May 11: Dordogne Valley to Loire Valley
 Wednesday, May 12: Chateau Chambord
Paris
 Thursday, May 13: To Paris
 Friday, May 14: Canonical Paris
 Saturday, May 15: Versailles
 Sunday, May 16: Villepigues
 Monday, May 17: Fine Dining
 Tuesday, May 18: Science Museum
London
 Wednesday, May 19: Chunnel
 Thursday, May 20: Political Science, History, Theatre Arts
 Friday, May 21: Greenwich
 Saturday, May 22: For the Children
 Sunday, May 23: Tubing
Bath and Cotswolds
 Monday, May 24: Bath
 Tuesday, May 25: Waters of Bath
 Wednesday, May 26: Stones of Southern England
 Thursday, May 27: Bath to Cotswolds
 Friday, May 28: Walking Cotswold Way
 Saturday, May 29: Medieval and Elizabethean Theatre
York and Haltwhistle
 Sunday, May 30: Rain, Hail and York
 Monday, May 31: Harry Potter Day
 Tuesday, June 1: To the Border
 Wednesday, June 2: Hadrian’s Wall
Scotland
 Thursday, June 3: Edinburgh
 Friday, June 4: Edinburgh Castle
 Saturday, June 5: A Wee Bit of Everything
 Sunday, June 6: Robert’s Birthday, Speyside
 Monday, June 7: The Great Glen
Lakes District and Northern Wales
 Tuesday, June 8: Southward to the Lakes District
 Wednesday, June 9: Keswick
 Thursday, June 10: The Leighton’s of Alberbury
 Friday, June 11: Castles and Houses of North Wales
Ireland
 Saturday, June 12: Crossing the Irish Sea
 Sunday, June 13: Poorman’s Bloomsday
 Monday, June 14: Rock of Cashel
 Tuesday, June 15: Dingle Town
 Wednesday, June 16: Dingle Peninsula
 Thursday, June 17: Trading Peninsulas
 Friday, June 18: Ring of Kerry
 Saturday, June 19: Classic Day Trip
 Sunday, June 20: Homeward
Postscripts
 Monday, June 21: Picks, Pans, Finances
II  David’s Daily Journal
 : Prologue
  Prologue
Rome
 Friday, March 26: Starting Out
 Saturday, March 27: A Fast Morning for a Long Plane
 Sunday, March 28: The Planes that Time Forgot
 Monday, March 29: Our First Full Day in Europe
 Tuesday, March 30: Beautiful Borghese
 Wednesday, March 31: Our Papa, the Pope
 Thursday, April 1: The Vatican Museum
 Friday, April 2: Sunny Sorrento
Sorrento
 Saturday, April 3: The Ruins of Pompeii
 Sunday, April 4: The Amalfi Coast
 Monday, April 5: The Crowded City of Naples
 Tuesday, April 6: A Rest Day
 Wednesday, April 7: 5 Hours of Driving
Tuscany
 Thursday, April 8: A Day in Assisi
 Friday, April 9: A Rainy Day in Medieval San Gimignano
 Saturday, April 10: A Busy Day in Florence
 Sunday, April 11: Easter Sunday
 Monday, April 12: The Leaning Tower of Pisa
 Tuesday, April 13: Siena
 Wednesday, April 14: A Pretty Drive to Lucca
 Thursday, April 15: Back to Florence
 Friday, April 16: Leonardo in san Gimignano
Venice
 Saturday, April 17: Hi Ho, Hi Ho, to Venice we go
 Sunday, April 18: Touring the Sights of Venice
 Monday, April 19: An Exciting Day with Pigeons
Lake Como and Cinque Terre
 Tuesday, April 20: Welcome to Lake Como
 Wednesday, April 21: Cinque Terre, the Five Lands
 Thursday, April 22: A Sunny Hike
Provence
 Friday, April 23: A Drive, a Casino, a Swim
 Saturday, April 24: Welcome to Provence
 Sunday, April 25: Exploring the Old Town
 Monday, April 26: Touring the Other Regions of Provence
 Tuesday, April 27: Market Day and a Drive
 Wednesday, April 28: A Swim in the River
 Thursday, April 29: The French Haircut
 Friday, April 30: .....Finally Going Somewhere
Southern France
 Saturday, May 1: May Day! May Day!
 Sunday, May 2: Nelly and Company
 Monday, May 3: The 4 Ruins
 Tuesday, May 4: Welcome to Chateau Figeac!
 Wednesday, May 5: A Jam-Packed Day at the Figeac
 Thursday, May 6: Our Last Day at the Chateau
Central France
 Friday, May 7: Medieval Sarlat
 Saturday, May 8: My Birthday!
 Sunday, May 9: Monkey Zoo
 Monday, May 10: An Awesome Bird Show
 Tuesday, May 11: Welcome to the Loire Valley
 Wednesday, May 12: The Great Hunting Lodge
Paris
 Thursday, May 13: PARIS!!!
 Friday, May 14: Exploring the Main Sights in Paris
 Saturday, May 15: More Fun Relatives
 Sunday, May 16: The Creepy Catacombs
 Monday, May 17: Churches Galore!
 Tuesday, May 18: The Science Museum
London
 Wednesday, May 19: Au Revoir France, Hello UK!
 Thursday, May 20: Sights Overload!
 Friday, May 21: Greenwich
 Saturday, May 22: The Circle of Life
 Sunday, May 23: The London Eye
Bath and Cotswolds
 Monday, May 24: Back to Driving
 Tuesday, May 25: A Walk, a Church, and the Baths of Bath
 Wednesday, May 26: Prehistoric Stonehenge
 Thursday, May 27: An Exciting Day, for a Drive!
 Friday, May 28: The Hike
 Saturday, May 29: Warwick Castle
York and Hadrian’s Wall
 Sunday, May 30: Welcome to Yorkshire
 Monday, May 31: Harry Potter 3!!!
 Tuesday, June 1: A Fun-Filled Drive to Hadrien’s Wall
 Wednesday, June 2: Actually Seeing Hadrien’s Wall!
Scotland
 Thursday, June 3: Driving Again
 Friday, June 4: The Edinburgh Castle
 Saturday, June 5: A Slow Museum and a Fast Hike
 Sunday, June 6: Robert’s Birthday, at the Whiskeyville
 Monday, June 7: Loch Ness Monster!
Keswick and Conwy
 Tuesday, June 8: Sunny Keswick
 Wednesday, June 9: A Day For Fun
 Thursday, June 10: Conwy, the Walled Town
 Friday, June 11: Many Castles and Houses
Ireland
 Saturday, June 12: RIVERDANCE
 Sunday, June 13: A Museum and Famous College
 Monday, June 14: Farewell, Thy Dublin!
 Tuesday, June 15: Fungie (not the plant)!
 Wednesday, June 16: The Drive of Many Stops
 Thursday, June 17: The Shortest Drive So Far!
 Friday, June 18: The Ring of Kerry
 Saturday, June 19: The Crowded Town of Kilkenny
 Sunday, June 20: WELCOME HOME!!!
 : Epilogue
  Epilogue
III  Robert’s Journal
Robert’s Days
 Friday, March 26: Departure
 Saturday, March 27: Crossing the Atlantic
 Sunday, March 28: Arrival in Rome
 Monday, March 29: Ancient Rome
 Tuesday, March 30: Borghese Gallery
 Wednesday, March 31: The Vatican
 Thursday, April 1: Vatican Museum
 Saturday, April 3: Pompeii
 Sunday, April 4: Amalfi Coast
 Monday, April 5: Naples
 Tuesday, April 6: Sorrento Day Off
 Wednesday, April 7: Assisi
 Friday, April 9: Certaldo, San Gimignano
 Saturday, April 10: Florence I
 Sunday, April 11: Easter in Tuscany
 Monday, April 12: Leaning Tower of Pisa
 Tuesday, April 13: Sienna
 Wednesday, April 14: Volterra
 Thursday, April 15: Florence II
 Friday, April 16: Leonardo Museum
 Sunday, April 18: Venice
 Tuesday, April 20: Venice to Bellagio
 Wednesday, April 21: Bellagio to CinqueTerre
 Thursday, April 22: CinqueTerre Town Walk
 Friday, April 23: Italy, Monaco, France
 Sunday, April 25: To Provence
 Monday, April 26: Pont du Gard
 Tuesday, April 27: Market Day, Mt. Ventoux
 Friday, April 30: Avignon
 Sunday, May 1: Carcassone
 Wednesday, May 4: Chateau Figeac
 Thursday, May 5: St. Emilion
 Friday, May 7: Prehistoric France
 Saturday, May 8: Castlenaud
 Sunday, May 9: Monkey Forest
 Friday, May 14: Louvre
 Saturday, May 15: Versailles
 Sunday, May 16: Orsay Museum, Catacombs
 Tuesday, May 18: City of Science and Industry
 Wednesday, May 19: Chunnel
 Thursday, May 20: Westminster
 Saturday, May 22: Lion King
 Sunday, May 23: Changing the Guard
 Monday, May 24: Bath
 Tuesday, May 25: Canal Hike
 Wednesday, May 26: Stonehenge, Avebury
 Thursday, May 27: To the Cotswolds
 Friday, May 28: Walking the Public Footpath
 Saturday, May 29: Warwick Castle, Stratford-on-Avon
 Sunday, May 30: York Minster
 Monday, May 31: York Museums, Harry Potter
 Tuesday, June 1: To “The North”
 Wednesday, June 2: Hadrian’s Wall, Alnwick Castle
 Thursday, June 3: To Edinburgh
 Friday, June 4: Edinburgh Castle
 Saturday, June 5: Museum of Scotland, Arthur’s Seat
 Sunday, June 6: To Inverness, My Birthday
 Monday, June 7: Oban
 Tuesday, June 8: To Keswick
 Wednesday, June 9: Pencil Museum, Derwent Water
 Thursday, June 10: To Wales
 Friday, June 11: Welsh Castles
 Saturday, June 12: Across the Irish Sea
 Sunday, June 13: Dublin
 Monday, June 14: Cashel
 Tuesday, June 15: Dingle
 Thursday, June 17: Kenmare
 Friday, June 18: Ring of Kerry
 Saturday, June 19: Kilkenny
 Sunday, June 20: Homeward
IV  Pat’s Letters Home
Pat’s Letters
 March 28 - April 1: Buon giorno from Rome
 April 2 - April 6: Buon giorno from Sorrento
 April 7: Buon giorno from Assisi
 April 8 - April 16: Buon giorno from Tuscany
 April 17 - April 19: Buon giorno from Venice
 March 20 - March 22: Buon giorno from Lake Como and CinqueTerre
 March 23 - March 24: Bonjour from Provence
 March 25 - March 30: Bonjour from Cotes du Rhone
 May 1 - May 3: Bonjour from Cannes-Minervois
 May 4 - May 5: Bonjour from Chateau Figeac
 May 6 - May 10: Bonjour from Sarlat
 May 11 - May 18: Bonjour from Loire Valley and Paris
 May 19 - May 23: Cheers from London
 May 24 - May 29: Cheers from The Cotswolds
 May 30 - June 2: Cheers from York and Hadrian’s Wall
 June 3 - June 7: Cheers from Scotland
 June 8 - June 11: Cheers from Lakes District & Wales
 June 12 - June 19: Cheers from Ireland